A Love Letter (From a Girl Who Loves Through Poetry)

To the boy teaching me how to love,

 

I know I do not speak the words I write down enough

and for this I am sorry –

it is easier to bleed onto a page than onto a person.

But if one day you choose to enter my mind

and read the poetry spilling out of me

please be cautious

I do not have control over how the sentences form

or how the ideas twist together,

the words just are as I just am.

And they flow without reason or fear, they are

a heartbeat for a girl with a broken heart.

 

To the boy teaching me how to love,

 

In you I see Cummings, Poe, Plath and Williams

and all the dead poets who whisper ideas in

my ears at night, you are my muse.

A kiss from you will never be just a kiss for

someone like me

it will be stardust and magic and nectar.

A touch is not merely a touch. It is a caress or an embrace

or a collision and if we

slow dance at midnight I will remember

how the moonlight illuminates your skin

and how the whiskey tastes on your tongue,

I will not forget this feeling

even if you do.

 

To the boy teaching me how to love,

 

Most poets die drunk,

alone,

and so beautiful they cannot even comprehend

their loveliness.

I guess we become the things we write about

after all, and I don’t think I am an exception.

When we are broken we

shatter like glass and it hurts

to put ourselves back together, so sometimes

we just don’t. I haven’t been able

to pick up all the fragments yet, instead I am

finding new ones.

And you are watching, waiting,

and letting me fix myself.

Thank you.

One day I will be so full of light that

together we will set the world on fire.

 

To the boy teaching me how to love,

 

Do not give up on me yet.

When you arrived I wanted to give you

everything I had – my whole heart.

But I left so much of myself in others

that I only had mismatched bits and pieces

to offer you,

If I had known you were coming

I would have saved them all

but I did not and I know the leftovers

are not nearly enough but

I am rebuilding.

I am not as hollow as I once was

All other voices are whispers and yours

a thunderstorm,

you have shown colour to a girl who only saw

in shades of grey.

 

To the boy teaching me how to love,

 

I carry your heart with me

wherever I am and wherever I go.

I don’t want realism with you,

I want magic. You are not just a boy to me anymore,

you are starting to become my home –

my stars and my moon

and every night I write to you.

Love often arrives too early

on my doorstep

and too late at another’s but this time I think

the timing is right and for once in my life,

I don’t want to run away.

In your palms and fingertips and deep in your soul are

all the poems I want to write and I am not

finished yet –

I’m not sure I ever will be.

You are my Heathcliff, my Darcy,

I am mine before I am anyone else’s but

whatever souls are made of,

his and mine are the same.

 

To the boy teaching me how to love,

 

This loving has never been an art of mine

as it has been for you but I will drown oceans

I will make gold out of the dirt I have been left in

I will grow and change and evolve into

a woman who is strong enough

to move mountains.

And I want you with me through it all

You have left your scent on my hair,

my clothes, my sheets and my heart;

These words ache for you

and only you.

 

To the boy teaching me how to love,

 

I know it is not easy to hold on to

a girl dressed in mist who

writes letters to you in secret,

but I know I will soon

be able to love you the way you love me

and we will have a love worth writing about.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *